**************************************************************** Bio-ADIT 2006 FIRST CALL FOR PAPERS ****************************************************************

The Second International Workshop on Biologically Inspired Approaches to Advanced Information Technology

January 26 - 27, 2006

Senri Life Science Center, Osaka, Japan

Web site:

formatting link
Sponsored by - The 21st Century Center of Excellence Program of The Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and - Technology (MEXT), Japan, under the Program Title "Opening Up New Information Technologies for Building a Networked Symbiosis Environment"

Biologically inspired approaches have already proved successful in achieving major breakthroughs in a wide variety of problems in information technology (IT). A more recent trend is to explore the applicability of bio-inspired approaches to the development of self-organizing, evolving, adaptive and autonomous information technologies, which will meet the requirements of next-generation information systems, such as diversity, scalability, robustness, and resilience. These new technologies will become a base on which to build a networked symbiotic environment for pleasant, symbiotic society of human beings in the 21st century.

Bio-ADIT 2006 follows the success of the first workshop Bio-ADIT 2004 held at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland in January 2004. The workshop is intended to provide an effective forum for original research results in the field of bio- inspired approaches to advanced information technologies. It will also serve to foster the connection between biological paradigms and solutions to building the next-generation information systems.

SCOPE: The primary focus of the workshop is on new and original research results in the areas of information systems inspired by biology. We invite you to submit papers that present novel, challenging, and innovative results. The topics include all aspects of bio-inspired information technologies in networks, distributed/parallel systems, hardware (including robotics) and software. We also encourage you to submit papers dealing with: - Self-organizing, self-repairing, self-replicating and self-stabilizing systems - Evolving and adapting systems - Autonomous and evolutionary software and robotic systems - Scalable, robust and resilient systems - Complex biosystems - Gene, protein and metabolic networks - Symbiosis networks - Synthetic biology for IT evolution

SUBMISSION OF PAPERS: Authors are invited to submit complete and original papers. Papers submitted should not have been previously published in any forum, nor be under review for any journal or other conference. All submitted papers will be refereed for quality, correctness, originality and relevance. All accepted papers will be published in official proceedings with an ISBN number by a major international publisher, and be available at the conference.

Manuscripts should include an abstract and be limited to 16 pages in single spaced and single column format. Submissions should include the title, author(s), author's affiliation, e-mail address, fax number and postal address. In the case of multiple authors, an indication of which author is responsible for correspondence and preparing the camera ready paper should also be included. Electronic submission is strongly encouraged. Preferred file formats are PDF (.pdf) or Postscript (.ps). Visit our Web site at

formatting link
for more information. Please contact Dr. Masuzawa if you have to submit hard copies. Manuscripts should be submitted by July 31, 2005 through the Bio-ADIT Web site. Please contact the technical program co-chairs for any questions:

Professor Auke Jan Ijspeert School of Computer and Communication Sciences Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne (EPFL) CH-1015 Lausanne, Switzerland Tel: +41-21-693-2658 Fax: +41-21-693-3705 E-mail:

Professor Toshimitsu Masuzawa Graduate School of Information Science and Technology Osaka University

1-3 Machikaneyama, Toyonaka, Osaka 560-8531, Japan Tel: +81-6-6850-6580 Fax: +81-6-6850-6582 E-mail:

IMPORTANT DATES: Paper submission deadline : July 31, 2005 Notification of acceptance : October 1, 2005 Camera ready papers due : October 20, 2005

STUDENT TRAVEL GRANTS: A limited number of travel grants will be provided for students attending Bio-ADIT 2006. Details of how to apply for a student travel grant will be posted on the workshop Web site.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: General Co-Chairs: - Daniel Mange (EPFL, Switzerland) - Shojiro Nishio (Osaka University, Japan) Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs: - Auke Jan Ijspeert (EPFL, Switzerland) - Toshimitsu Masuzawa (Osaka University, Japan) Special Session Program Chair: - Hiroshi Shimizu (Osaka University, Japan) Finance Chair: - Toru Fujiwara (Osaka University, Japan) Publicity Co-chairs: - Christof Teuscher (UCSD, USA) - Yoshinori Takeuchi (Osaka University, Japan) Internet Chair: - Hideki Tode (Osaka University, Japan) Publications Chair - Shinji Kusumoto (Osaka University, Japan) Local Arrangement Chair: - Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya (Osaka University, Japan)

TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE: Co-Chairs: - Auke Jan Ijspeert (EPFL, Switzerland) - Toshimitsu Masuzawa (Osaka University, Japan) Members (Tentative): - Luc Berthouze (AIST, Japan) - Marco Dorigo (Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium) - Raphael Holzer (EPFL, Switzerland) - Koh Hosoda (Osaka University, Japan) - Katsuo Inoue (Osaka University, Japan) - Laurent Itti (University of Southern California, USA) - Satoshi Kurihara (Osaka University, Japan) - Anders Lansner (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden) - Vincent Lepetit (EPFL, Switzerland) - James C. Liao (UCLA, USA) - Wolfgang Maass (Graz University of Technology, Austria) - Alberto Montresor (University of Bologna, Italy) - Masayuki Murata (Osaka University, Japan) - Mitsuyuki Nakao (Tohoku University, Japan) - Chrystopher L. Nehaniv (University of Hertfordshire, UK) - Masahiro Okamoto (Kyushu University, Japan) - Takao Onoye (Osaka University, Japan) - Ezequiel Di Paolo (University of Sussex, UK) - Rolf Pfeifer (University of Zurich, Switzerland) - Giovanna Di Marzo Serugendo (University of Geneva, Switzerland) - Hiroshi Shimizu (Osaka University, Japan) - Gregory Stephanopoulos (MIT, USA) - Tim Taylor (University of Edinburgh, UK) - Gianluca Tempesti (EPFL, Switzerland) - Daniel Thalmann (EPFL, Switzerland) - Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya (Osaka University, Japan) - Sethu Vijayakumar (University of Edinburgh, UK) - Koichi Wada (Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan) - Naoki Wakamiya (Osaka University, Japan) - Hans V. Westerhoff (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - Masafumi Yamashita (Kyushu University, Japan) - Xin Yao (University of Birmingham, UK) - Tom Ziemke (University of Skovde, Sweden)

Bio-ADIT STEERING COMMITTEE: Chair: - Hideo Miyahara (Osaka University, Japan) Members: - Albert-Laszlo Barabasi (University of Notre Dame, USA) - Auke Jan Ijspeert (EPFL, Switzerland) - Daniel Mange (EPFL, Switzerland) - Masayuki Murata (Osaka University, Japan) - Shojiro Nishio (Osaka University, Japan) - Hiroshi Shimizu (Osaka University, Japan) - Hans V. Westerhoff (Free University, The Netherlands)

---------------------------------------------------------------- Christof Teuscher, PhD University of California, San Diego (UCSD)

formatting link

Reply to
Christof Teuscher
Loading thread data ...

PolyTech Forum website is not affiliated with any of the manufacturers or service providers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.