Mars Express on orbit around Mars and Beagle II lands on Mars

Check it out.... Hope it survived entry...
ESA News http://www.esa.int
24 December 2003
Mars Express web streaming
Web streaming of Mars Express orbit insertion and Beagle landing starts at
02:35 CET (01:35 GMT) on 25 December.
Click here to access, http://esa.capcave.com/esa/marsexpress /
More about ...
* Europe goes to Mars http://www.esa.int/SPECIALS/Mars_Express/index.html * Mars Express overview http://www.esa.int/esaSC/120379_index_0_m.html * Christmas on Mars: be there with ESA http://www.esa.int/esaCP/SEM06Q274OD_index_0.html * Getting it right: An interview with Rudi Schmidt http://www.esa.int/esaSC/SEMDILXLDMD_people_0_iv.html * Testing times: An interview with Con McCarthy http://www.esa.int/esaSC/SEMZTOXLDMD_people_0_iv.html * A giant step for Europe: An interview with Michael McKay http://www.esa.int/esaSC/SEMZSOXLDMD_people_0_iv.html
Related links
* Beagle 2 lander homepage http://www.beagle2.com
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

they are saying on the stream at this time that the Beagal Burn will be at 3:47 or in about 20 some mins.

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

ESA Streaming Video scheduled programs do not seem to be available agter 7:00 PM PST - the MOI segment. I have been able to keep up with progress here....
http://www.spaceflightnow.com/mars/marsexpress/status.html
Excerpts:
THURSDAY, DECEMBER 25, 2003 0530 GMT (12:30 a.m. EST)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft circling around the Red Planet should have just passed over the Beagle 2 landing site. If Beagle is operating per the plan, it should have transmitted a signal that Odyssey would receive and then pass to Earth about an hour from now.
But even if the lander has survived its dramatic journey to the surface, officials say there is no guarantee that communications will occur during this first attempt with Odyssey. They note that Beagle may not have fully opened up by the time the orbiter appears over the Martian horizon.
Beagle is supposed to shut down for the Martian night in a little while. So if Odyssey does not hear Beagle now, the lander will be asleep when the orbiter again flies overhead later today. The next opportunity for mission controllers to learn the fate of the lander will come late Thursday when the Lovell Telescope at the Jodrell Bank Observatory in the U.K. listens from Beagle's signal at around 2240 GMT.
Sunset on Mars is 0715 GMT; sunrise is 2002 GMT.
0431 GMT (11:31 p.m. EST Wed.)
Preliminary data through the S-band system of Mars Express indicates that the craft has entered orbit around the Red Planet!
However, officials will have to wait a bit longer to confirm details about the orbit insertation and declare success. The full X-band telemetry data will be regained later tonight to determine the burn duration, spacecraft health and the exact orbit achieved.
But for now, mission controllers are shaking hands and breathing easier based on this initial information.
0318 GMT (10:18 p.m. EST Wed.)
After the half-hour Mars Orbit Insertion burn, the Mars Express spacecraft should be captured into orbit around the Red Planet -- a highly-elliptical egg-shaped orbit. It will be a couple of hours before flight controllers gain enough data from the spacecraft to confirm a successful arrival in Martian orbit.
We will continue to update this page throughout the night as information becomes available on the fate of Beagle 2 and the Mars Express spacecraft.
0300 GMT (10:00 p.m. EST Wed.)
Mars Express should be about half-way through its engine firing to enter orbit around the planet for its scientific studies.
0254 GMT (9:54 p.m. EST Wed.)
Beagle 2 should be sitting at Isidis Planitia!
The gas bags, no longer needed, will separate from the lander. And in
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

They're now just waiting to hear those words that will live forever...
"ESA, Isidis Planitia base here...the Beagle has landed."
--
Mike KD7PVT
NAR #70953 - Sr/HPR Level-1 ~ SeaNAR - The Seattle NAR Section #568
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
nojunk@this_address.com (Mike Pearson <see .sig>) wrote:

They may NOT hear those words.
--
Jerry Irvine, Box 1242, Claremont, California 91711 USA
Opinion, the whole thing. <mail to: snipped-for-privacy@gte.net>
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
they are actually listening for a cell phone ring tone.....no joke.... shockie B)
wrote:

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Thu, 25 Dec 2003 12:33:33 -0500, "shockwaveriderz"
Any idea what the tune is?
I can't find it on the web site, although it's quite possible I missed it.
Here's hoping for a nice Christmas present from Mars.
Zooty
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
http://nme.ringtones.co.uk/search.asp?searchstring agle&handset=Nokia&type=Ringtones
listen to the mp3 version....
shockie B)
wrote:

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
On Thu, 25 Dec 2003 13:24:28 -0500, "shockwaveriderz"

Thanks. That also shows me the right keywords to find ringtones on Google from now on. I appreciate the help.
Zooty
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Polytechforum.com is a website by engineers for engineers. It is not affiliated with any of manufacturers or vendors discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.