saving over others

does anyone know of a utility (or process) to prevent more than one person from opening the same file in pro/e? that way work is not saved over.
thanks.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
The only thing I found that works in an MS Windows environment is making the 'public' directory read-only for all people using the files in this directory. Pro-Manufacturing is especially nasty at re-saving all of the design components.
eddie wrote:

Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload
A data manager will prevent this if your users use it properly. Try Pro/Intralink or PDMLink.
--
Ben


"eddie" < snipped-for-privacy@bellsouth.net> wrote in message
  Click to see the full signature.
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Polytechforum.com is a website by engineers for engineers. It is not affiliated with any of manufacturers or vendors discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.