Block Command - 2004

I have a question concerning the modification of an existing block.
I noticed in AC 2004, that if the name is 'typed' in the
Block GUI, that redefinition of a block proceeds as normal with updates to existing blocks of the same name.
On the other hand, if you 'select' the same name from the pop down menu of existing blocks, AC deletes the existing blocks from the drawing.
Has this been fixed, or is this just one of those things you avoid?
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
<%-name%>
Add image file
Upload

Polytechforum.com is a website by engineers for engineers. It is not affiliated with any of manufacturers or vendors discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.